"My pictures are reports from deep inside. They usually come into being when some reality meteorite crashes into my own universe ..."

Katrin Alvarez

Curriculum Vitae

Curriculum Vitae

„My pictures are reports from deep inside. They usually come into being when some reality meteorite crashes into my own universe. But there’s also an enormous space in here where I stow things away. It’s full of visions, stories, daydreams, nightmares. They’re waiting to be revealed, to be made visual. Like shadowy fishes swimming past the back of my eyes. Sometimes I manage to catch one.
I’m a junky: my addiction is to colour and shape.“


Katrin Alvarez was born in Güstrow (Mecklenburg). She is a studied lawyer, spent two years as a volunteer journalist and published satirical poems and a novel.


Katrin Alvarez exhibited in Israel, Switzerland, Canada, Italy, Austria, France and in the United States. 2007 Alvarez won the Allan Edwards Award of the Federation of Canadian Painters (SFCA) in Vancouver. 2011 one of Alvarez's paintings was chosen to hang in the „Phantasten Museum Wien“ (New Fantastic Art Museum in Vienna). 2012 Alvarez was awarded the Grande Médaille d'Or M.C.A. Cannes-Azur (Le Monde de la Culture et des Arts) and the Leonardo Prize (Painting) at the Chianciano Art Award 2012.


„Katrin Alvarez' paintings do not try to explain, educate or teach, “German psychiatrist Dr. Gosciniak stated in an essay, „neither do they carry a mission. They do however embed themselves deeply in anyone who gets attracted to them. They are like a stone cast into a lake. The ripples felt by the individual may expand the horizon of feelings and dreams, clearing memories from debris, thus opening a new way to find one's deeper and inner self.“

„Meine Bilder sind Berichterstattungen aus dem Inneren. Die meisten entstehen, wenn Realitätsmeteoriten auf meinem Universum einschlagen ..."

Katrin Alvarez

Vita

Vita

„Meine Bilder sind Berichterstattungen aus dem Inneren. Die meisten entstehen, wenn Realitätsmeteoriten auf meinem Universum einschlagen. Aber es gibt auch einen riesigen Stauraum, in dem alle Visionen, Geschichten und Tag- oder Alpträume gelagert sind  -  sie müssen nur noch sichtbar gemacht werden. Schattenfische, die hinter meinen Augen vorbeifliegen – manchmal kann ich sie fangen.
Ich bin ein Junkie, meine Sucht sind Farben und Formen."

Katrin Alvarez (Geburtsort Güstrow) ist examinierte Juristin und Redakteurin. Sie veröffentlichte mehrere surrealistische Satiren und einen Roman.

 

Alvarez stellte in Israel, Kanada, Italien, Frankreich, Österreich, der Schweiz und den USA aus. 2007 gewann sie den Allan Edwards Award der Federation of Canadian Painters (SFCA) in Vancouver. 2011 wurde eine ihrer Arbeiten für das„Phantasten Museum“ im Palais Palffy in Wien ausgewählt. 2012 erhielt Alvarez die Grande Médaille d'Or M.C.A. Cannes Azur und wurde mit dem Leonardo Prize (Malerei) des Chianciano Art Award 2012 ausgezeichnet.

 

„Alvarez's Bilder wollen nicht erklären, erziehen oder lehren“, schrieb Dr.Gosciniak (Psychiater, Neurologe), „Sie enthalten auch keine Botschaft. Sie graben sich jedoch tief in das Bewußtsein des aufmerksamen Betrachters ein. Wie ein Stein in einen See geworfen, können die sich ausbreitenden Wellen den Horizont der Emotionen und Träume erweitern und einen neuen Weg zum tiefsten inneren Ich öffnen.“